Guild XML File Bug

Found a bug or strange behavior on WoW-Heroes? Help us squash it by reporting it here!
80
dbx99
Posts: 4

Guild XML File Bug

Post#1 » Thu Mar 25, 2010 12:29 pm

Hi,

first I want to thank you for your site !

Last week I used the following link to get XML data sheet of my Guilde :

http://xml.wow-heroes.com/xml-guild.php ... f%20shadow

I tried today and I get the following error :

<wowheroes>
<error>
<error_id>wrong guild</error_id>
</error>
</wowheroes>

Looking for a bug repport I found the following link style :

http://wow-heroes.com/get_guild_list.ph ... mp=1231654

but I found no explication about it

What's the meening and how to use the following php GET arguments

filter
gr1
gr2
stamp

Do this link replace the first one ?
If not, why does the first one not work ?

Thank you and best reguards

Neocain

80
dbx99
Posts: 4

Re: Guild XML File Bug

Post#2 » Thu Mar 25, 2010 1:19 pm

I tried replacing spaces with %20 and + but nothing works

The Guild name is angels of shadow on throk'feroth zone eu.

It worked till sunday ? May be due of the last patch ?

I hope you can help me

Best reguards

Shrekcain

80
dbx99
Posts: 4

Re: Guild XML File Bug

Post#3 » Thu Mar 25, 2010 1:21 pm

By the way ^^

is it possible to access the same xml files for characters sheets ?
only cached data of curse .

Best reguards

Shrekcain

80
dbx99
Posts: 4

Re: Guild XML File Bug

Post#4 » Thu Mar 25, 2010 1:28 pm

dbx99 wrote:http://xml.wow-heroes.com/xml-guild.php ... f%20shadow

I tried today and I get the following error :

<wowheroes>
<error>
<error_id>wrong guild</error_id>
</error>
</wowheroes>


I found the issue for this problem !
The Guild name is case sensitive !

But could you explain the secon url format with filter gr1 gr2 and stamp plz

Best reguards

Shrekcain

80
crushzilla
Posts: 18
Contact:

Re: Guild XML File Bug

Post#5 » Tue Apr 13, 2010 7:26 pm

Yes and a while back it wasn't case sensitive. Before I used to do ucwords() on guildnames.

Is this behavior intended? Eg. will this be fixed or should we fix it from our side?

Note: the armory doesn't care about case for guildname.

User avatar
Alex
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 747

Re: Guild XML File Bug

Post#6 » Wed Apr 14, 2010 2:38 pm

Sorry about this change, but it was intended actually. We had some issues with wrong guild being fetched when for example one guild is called "original" and the other is called "öriginal" so we're now searching for binary match of your request.
We might change back to case-insensitive search soon tho, it's just that there's a lot of preparation for cataclysm changes going on at the moment and we're forced to focus on that.

80
crushzilla
Posts: 18
Contact:

Re: Guild XML File Bug

Post#7 » Wed Apr 14, 2010 7:37 pm

What I did to fix it for my raid attendency software was just do a normal select and then afterwards loop over the results and do a strtolower($guildname) === strtolower($row['guildname']).
But I guess you're smart enough to figure out solutions for this yourself :)

Could you inform me some way or the other when you decide what solution to pick? So that I know what to change as it seems folks actually use the JSONP service I set up ;) (around 100 000 requests in 3 months).

Return to “Bug reports”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Baidu [Spider] and 2 guests